Matt Mullican

A jury made up of representatives of internationally renowned art institutions has chosen the American artist Matt Mullican as the second prize-winner of the Possehl Prize for International Art. The artist's show entitled “Mapping the world. 50 years of work”, will offer a complete overview of his artistic production over the past fifty years and will take place in different places in Lübeck: on the Cathedral Lawn (17.7. – 9.10.), in St. Peter's Church (8.10. – 6.11.), and in the Kunsthalle St. Annen (29.10. – 8.1.). In addition to the exhibitions Mullican is also planning to give performances and workshops.

Next opening: Floral installation "Round five worlds chart in flowers" on the Cathedral Lawn in Lübeck, July 17th, 11.30 am

The award ceremony and the opening of his solo exhibition in the Kunsthalle St. Annen will take place on 29th October 2022. By awarding Matt Mullican the jury has acknowledged his life’s work, which continues to have a strong influence on younger generations of artists.


Decoding the world

The prize-winner Matt Mullican (born in 1951) is a leading representative of what is known as the Pictures Generation, a group of artists who explored the impact of mass media images on everyday perception in the mid-1970s and so declared them to be an established element of their approach to art-making. For decades Mullican has been working on an artistic classification system for his world view, which he endeavours to capture in large-scale multi-media installations. His work extends over many different fields, ranging from painting and various reprographic techniques through to sculptures and performances; his exhibitions always interact with the specific features of the surrounding space.

Mullican was Professor for Time-based Media at the University of Fine Arts of Hamburg until 2019 and currently lives and works in Berlin and New York. His artistic development has taken him in innovative directions that further break down the boundaries between art and other disciplines. Above all, he tries to take the distinction between high and low art to the point of absurdity, because in his opinion it restricts creativity.

Matt Mullican, Exhibition at Hangar Bicocca, Mailand, 2018

Mullicans first visit in Lübeck

In November 2021 Matt Mullican visited the Hanseatic city of Lübeck for the first time and was delighted by the opportunities that the prize will afford him.

 

1. Mullican with Bernd Schwarze; 2. with Antje-Britt Mählmann; 3. with curator Oliver Zybok; 4. in front of the Holsten Gate

1_PRESS RELEASE Mullican_English

 2_PRESS RELEASE floral installation Mullican_English

Contact at the Possehl-Foundation:

Sylvia Teske-Schlaak; +49 (0)451-148 219; stiftung.teske(at)possehl.de

Contact

Possehl Foundation Lübeck

Beckergrube 38 – 52
D-23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: +49 (0)451 148-200

Find Out More

Our publications

More about the Foundation

Here you can find our annual reports, Emil Possehl’s will, and the brand eins Wissen magazine to mark our 100th anniversary.

All PUBLICATIONS

Emil Possehl's bequest

Our articles of association

The Foundation only supports non-profit and charitable causes and “promotes all that is good and beautiful in Lübeck”.

FIND OUT MORE

Matt Mullican

Mapping the world. 50 years of work

Die Jury mit Mitgliedern international bekannter Kunstinstitutionen hat den amerikanischen Künstler Matt Mullican als zweiten Preisträger des Possehl-Preises für Internationale Kunst ausgewählt. Dieser wird 2022 an verschiedenen Orten in Lübeck einen Ausblick auf sein 50-jähriges Kunstschaffen geben: auf der Domwiese  (17.7. – 9.10.), in der St. Petri-Kirche (9.10. – 6.11.) und in der Kunsthalle St. Annen (30.10. – 8.1.). Darüber hinaus wird er im Herbst Workshops und Hypnose-Performances durchführen.

Nächste Eröffnung: Florale Inszenierung "Round five worlds chart in flowers", Domwiese Lübeck, 17. Juli, 11.30 Uhr

Die Preisvergabe sowie die Eröffnung seiner Einzelausstellung in der Kunsthalle St. Annen erfolgen am 29. Oktober 2022. Die Jury würdigt damit Mullicans Lebenswerk, das bis heute maßgeblichen Einfluss auf jüngere Künstlergenerationen ausübt.


Die Welt dekodieren

Mit Matt Mullican (geb. 1951) wird einer der wegweisenden Vertreter der so genannten Pictures Generation geehrt, die Mitte der 1970er Jahre den Einfluss massenmedialer Bilder in der alltäglichen Wahrnehmung untersuchten und sie somit als festen Bestandteil künstlerischer Auseinandersetzungen deklarierten. Mullican arbeitet seit Jahrzehnten an einer künstlerischen Systematisierung seiner Weltsicht, die er in medial vielfältigen und raumgreifenden Installationen zu erfassen versucht. Sein Werk ist vielschichtig angelegt, es reicht von Malerei über verschiedene druckgrafische Techniken bis hin zu bildhauerischen Arbeiten und Performances; seine Ausstellungen interagieren stets mit den räumlichen Begebenheiten.

Bis 2019 war Mullican Professor für zeitbezogene Medien an der HfBK Hamburg, derzeit lebt und arbeitet er in Berlin und New York. Er hat mit seinem künstlerischen Schaffen wegweisende Richtungen eingeschlagen, die die Grenzen der Kunst hin zu anderen Disziplinen weiter öffnen. Vor allem versuche er, die Unterscheidung zwischen High & Low in den Künsten ad absurdum zu führen, da sie – seiner Ansicht nach – die Kreativität einschränke.

 Matt Mullican, Ausstellung im Hangar Bicocca, Mailand, 2018


Mullican erstmals in Lübeck

Im November 2021 besuchte Matt Mullican die Hansestadt und zeigte sich begeistert von den Möglichkeiten, die sich ihm im Zusammenhang mit der Auszeichnung bieten: Neben Ausstellungen in der Kunsthalle St. Annen und in der Kirche St. Petri zu Lübeck plant der Künstler Performances sowie Installationen im öffentlichen Raum.

 

1. Mullican mit Bernd Schwarze, St. Petri-Kirche; 2. mit Antje-Britt-Mählmann, Kunsthalle St. Annen; 3. mit Kurator Oliver Zybok; 4. vor dem Holstentor

PRESSEINFORMATIONEN finden Sie hier.

Ansprechpartnerinnen in der Stiftung:

Sylvia Teske-Schlaak & Nathalie Brüggen; 0451-148 219/217; stiftung.teske(at)possehl.de, stiftung.brueggen@possehl.de

 

Kontakt

Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck
Beckergrube 38 – 52
23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: 0451 / 148-200

Mehr erfahren

Unsere Publikationen

Mehr über die Stiftung
Hier finden Sie unsere Jahrbücher, Emils Testament und die brand eins Wissen-Publikation zum 100. Stiftungsjubiläum.

Alle Publikationen

Unsere Satzung

Das Vermächtnis Emil Possehls
Die Stiftung verfolgt ausschließlich gemeinnützige Zwecke und soll der „Förderung alles Guten und Schönen in Lübeck“ dienen.

Mehr erfahren