Possehl Engineering Prize

Award of the Possehl Engineering Prize 2021

They digitise, make illnesses visible and design in a UNESCO World Heritage site 

The Possehl Engineering Prize 2021 of €5,000 for graduates of Lübeck Technical University goes to Micha Studer for his bachelor’s dissertation, “Field simulations to integrate antennas into a ventilator”. Jan Oertling and Lennart Kaster each won an award of €2,500 at the prize-giving ceremony on 14 December.

From left: Award winners Lennart Kaster and Jan Oertling, Possehl Prize-winner Micha Studer, © Agentur 54° John Garve

Commended: research to digitise hospitals

The digitisation of hospitals is a great opportunity to relieve overworked staff of documentary and administrative work, as well as the need to make manual adjustments to medical equipment. This gives the nurses more time for their most important task, caring for patients. It was precisely this topic that Possehl Prize-winner Micha Studer investigated in his bachelor’s dissertation.

“One important area when it comes to digitising hospitals is to network ventilators, patient monitors and incubators, for example”, says Studer. Wireless connections using antennas are receiving increasing attention, because this type of connection provides a high level of flexibility for the medical staff. “Here the problem is that when antennas are installed in a ventilator, it alters the electrical properties of the antenna. The device acts as a shield around the antenna, for instance. This means the device can no longer transmit the information to the receiver”, continues Studer.

In his bachelor’s dissertation the prize-winner examined the question of whether these changes in the electrical properties of the antenna can be predicted using computer simulation. The student built a 3D model of a medical ventilator with an integrated antenna and simulated how it transmitted information. For comparison he took measurements from the real ventilator and it turned out that his forecasts were highly accurate. “This method could help to advance the networking of hospital equipment”, says Micha Studer.

Examining damaged lung tissue with x-rays to spot illnesses

Lennart Kaster, a graduate of Lübeck TU, received an award for his bachelor’s dissertation. As part of a research group at Munich TU the student of biomedicine had the chance to look closely at phase-contrast and dark-field X-ray imaging. In contrast to conventional X-ray images, the dark-field imaging technology is based on the scattering of X-rays, which shows up soft and delicate tissue, like the small, branching structures of the alveoli in the lungs.

“This imaging technique already helps medical staff to identify illnesses such as COPD and covid-19 earlier and with greater certainty. But the new methods can also help with many other illnesses, such as breast cancer or lung cancer”, says Lennard Kaster. For his bachelor’s dissertation Kaster built a physical model that can determine the properties of the tissue that are characteristically altered by illness for the dark-field imaging. This could make it possible to distinguish better between different illnesses in future.

Designing in a UNESCO World Heritage site – the ultimate challenge

For his master’s dissertation the architect designed a building right on the Willy-Brandt-Straße in Hamburg’s historic Kontorhaus district. Opposite the Chilehaus, surrounded by UNESCO World Heritage, and with a direct view of the Speicherstadt, the historic warehouse district. “Dealing with the World Heritage is the ultimate challenge, because there are so many nuances to take into account”, explains the 27-year-old. There are currently no guidelines on how to build in a UNESCO World Heritage site. The architect took up the challenge.

“The question for me was, how can I develop a protected group of buildings so that the people in the area derive a benefit from the new building?” His solution was to plan a multifunctional building that brings three groups of users together under one roof. Retail and trade on the ground floor, offices in the middle and residential space at the top of the building, complete with a flat roof for urban gardening. “My design is intended to capture the genius loci – the spirit of the place. It is inspired by the typical regional style, the façades, window shapes and Hamburg brick architecture”, adds Jan Oertling. His aim was to assume his responsibility as an architect and make a contribution to reaching the 1.5-degree goal by creating a timeless building that will still fit with the fabric of the city in future generations and that people will enjoy.

The prize-winners present their work

Micha Studer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OD9Gjt9RiH4
Lennart Kaster: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_WMTZ1Lsa9U
Jan Oertling: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwBGqd2egcU 

Contact

Possehl Foundation Lübeck

Beckergrube 38 – 52
D-23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: +49 (0)451 148-200

Find Out More

Our publications

More about the Foundation

Here you can find our annual reports, Emil Possehl’s will, and the brand eins Wissen magazine to mark our 100th anniversary.

All PUBLICATIONS

Emil Possehl's bequest

Our articles of association

The Foundation only supports non-profit and charitable causes and “promotes all that is good and beautiful in Lübeck”.

FIND OUT MORE

Possehl-Ingenieurpreis

Possehl-Ingenieurpreis 2021 vergeben

Sie digitalisieren, machen Krankheiten sichtbar und entwerfen im UNESCO Welterbe 

Der Possehl-Ingenieurpreis 2021 für Absolvent:innen der Technischen Hochschule Lübeck in Höhe von 5.000 Euro geht an Micha Studer für seine Bacherlorarbeit "Feldsimulationen zur Integration von Antennen in ein Beatmungsgerät". Jan Oertling und Lennart Kaster freuen sich bei der Preisverleihung am 14. Dezember jeweils über eine Prämie von 2.500 Euro.

Preisträger Possehl-Ingenieurpreis 2021

v.l.: Prämienpreisträger Lennart Kaster und Jan Oertling,  Possehl-Preisträger Micha Studer , © Agentur 54° John Garve

 Ausgezeichnet: Forschung zur Digitalisierung im Krankenhaus

Die Digitalisierung von Krankenhäusern bietet die große Chance, dem überlasteten Pflegepersonal Dokumentationsarbeit und manuelle Geräteeinstellungen abzunehmen. So bleibt mehr Zeit für die wichtigste Aufgabe der Pfleger:innen, die Betreuung der Patient:innen. Der Possehl-Ingenieurpreisträger Micha Studer beschäftigte sich in seiner Bachelorarbeit genau damit.

„Ein wichtiges Thema im Bereich der Digitalisierung in Krankenhäusern ist beispielsweise die Vernetzung von Beatmungsgeräten, Patientenmonitoren und Inkubatoren untereinander“, sagt Studer. Dabei wird zunehmend auf drahtlose Verbindungen durch Antennen gesetzt, da diese Verbindungen eine hohe Flexibilität für das medizinische Personal bieten. „Hier tritt das Problem auf: beim Einbau von Antennen in Beatmungsgeräte verändern sich die elektrischen Eigenschaften der Antenne. Zum Beispiel schirmt das Gerät die Antenne ab. Dadurch kann die Information vom Gerät nicht mehr zum Empfänger gelangen“, erläutert Studer weiter.

In seiner Bachelorarbeit hat sich sich der Preisträger mit der Frage beschäftigt, ob man diese Veränderungen der elektrischen Eigenschaften der Antenne mit einer Computersimulation vorhersagen kann. Der Student erstellte ein 3D-Modell von einem Beatmungsgerät mit eingebauter Antenne und simulierte wie diese aus dem Gerät sendet. Zum Vergleich machte er Messungen mit dem realen Beatmungsgerät und es zeigte sich: seine Vorhersagen trafen mit wenigen Abweichungen zu. „Mit dieser Methode könnte die Vernetzung von Geräten in Krankenhäusern vorangetrieben werden“, sagt Micha Studer.

 Erkranktes Lungengewebe röntgen und Krankheiten erkennen

Der TH Lübeck Absolvent Lennard Kaster erhielt eine Förderprämie für seine Bachelorarbeit. Innerhalb einer Forschungsgruppe an der TU München durfte sich der Biomedizintechnik Student intensiv mit der Phasenkontrast- und Dunkelfeldbildgebung beschäftigen. Im Vergleich zur konventionellen Röntgenaufnahme basiert die Dunkelfeldbildgebung auf der Streuung der Röntgenstrahlen, wodurch weiches und feines Gewebe sichtbar wird - wie zum Beispiel die kleinen und verästelten Strukturen der Lungenbläschen.

„Die Bildgebung hilft bereits dem medizinischen Personal dabei, Erkrankungen wie COPD und Covid-19 früher und sicherer zu erkennen. Aber auch bei vielen weiteren Krankheiten wie unter anderem Brustkrebs oder Lungenkrebs können die neuen Methoden helfen“, sagt Lennard Kaster. In seiner Bachelorarbeit hat Kaster ein physikalisches Modell erstellt, welches die Eigenschaften des Gewebes für die Dunkelfeldbildgebung bestimmen kann, die von Krankheiten charakteristisch verändert werden. Dadurch könnte in Zukunft besser zwischen Krankheiten unterschieden werden.

 Entwerfen im UNESCO Welterbe - die Königsklasse

Der Architekt plante für seine Masterarbeit ein Gebäude mitten auf der Willy-Brandt-Straße im Hamburger Kontorhausviertel. Gegenüber des Chilehauses, umgeben vom UNESCO Welterbe, mit direktem Blick auf die Speicherstadt. „Sich mit dem Welterbe zu beschäftigen, das ist die Königsklasse, weil man sehr viele Feinheiten berücksichtigen muss“, erläutert der 27-Jährige weiter. Bisher gäbe es keine Handlungsanweisungen, wie im UNESCO Welterbe gebaut werden könnte. Dieser Aufgabe nahm sich der Architekt an.

„Die Frage war für mich: wie kann ich ein so schützenswertes Ensemble weiterentwickeln, sodass die Menschen vor Ort einen Nutzen aus dem neuen Gebäude ziehen?“ Seine Lösung: ein multifunktionales Kontorgebäude, das drei Nutzergruppen unter ein Dach bringt. Gewerbeflächen im unteren, Büros im mittleren und Wohnungen im oberen Bereich des Gebäudes und einem Flachdach mit Urban Gardening. „Mit meinem Entwurf habe ich den Genius Loci – den Geist des Ortes – aufgenommen. Er orientiert sich an der typischen regionalen Baukultur, den Fassaden, Fensterformen und der Hamburger Backsteinarchitektur“, sagt Jan Oertling weiter. Das Ziel: seiner Verantwortung als Architekt nachkommen und einen Beitrag zum 1,5 Grad Pfad beitragen, indem er ein zeitloses Gebäude schafft, das auch in den folgenden Generationen zum Stadtbild passt und den Menschen gefällt.

Die Preise wurden in der Possehl-Stiftung aufgrund der geltenden Kontaktbeschränkungen unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit vergeben. 

Die Preisträger stellen ihre Arbeit vor:

Micha Studer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OD9Gjt9RiH4
Lennart Kaster: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_WMTZ1Lsa9U
Jan Oertling: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwBGqd2egcU 

 

Kontakt

Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck
Beckergrube 38 – 52
23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: 0451 / 148-200

Mehr erfahren

Unsere Publikationen

Mehr über die Stiftung
Hier finden Sie unsere Jahrbücher, Emils Testament und die brand eins Wissen-Publikation zum 100. Stiftungsjubiläum.

Alle Publikationen

Unsere Satzung

Das Vermächtnis Emil Possehls
Die Stiftung verfolgt ausschließlich gemeinnützige Zwecke und soll der „Förderung alles Guten und Schönen in Lübeck“ dienen.

Mehr erfahren