The beauty of the city

In 1987 the old town of Lübeck was declared a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage site. On the old town island there are more than 1,400 listed buildings, which all have to be maintained and preserved. The Possehl Foundation provides financial support for the historically appropriate refurbishment of many listed buildings. Another of the Foundation’s commitments is the preservation of “Lübeck’s Seven Spires” on the five churches in the old town. From 1950 to the present day the Possehl Foundation has contributed over €55 million to preserving and shaping the architectural diversity of Lübeck’s old town.


Restoration of the Lübeck Synagogue

The great synagogue in Lübeck was consecrated in 1880: an impressive building with Moorish elements and a large dome. In 1939 the city of Lübeck forced the Jewish community to sell the synagogue. The proud dome and all the decorative elements were removed. A simple brick façade remained. After the war the Jewish community returned. The façade was protected as a listed monument in 1991: it is a testament to the desecration of Jewish religion and culture by National Socialists in Lübeck and is recognised as a national monument by the federal government.

The federal and regional governments, along with several charitable foundations, provided the funds to preserve the synagogue. After six years of restoration work the synagogue was reopened in August 2021. The day of the reopening will always be linked with a feeling of gratitude for the dedicated work of so many people. For the Foundation the beauty of this place is embodied by the fact that it does not cover up the historical caesuras but allows them to be seen. This is a place where Jewish life in Lübeck can form new friendships.


Restoration of a historic house in Hartengrube

The house at 34 Hartengrube (yellow) was considered to be a banal building of no historic significance. It only became clear when the building site was being prepared that this is actually a very old house whose origins date back to the year 1378. According to the owners, the house had been “filled up, messed up and run down” over the past few decades. Now it was carefully restored to its former style in agreement with the listed buildings authority. The masonry was repaired and missing bricks were replaced with the appropriate historic material. By restoring the house the family have unearthed and revealed one of Lübeck’s hidden treasures.

Contact

Possehl Foundation Lübeck

Beckergrube 38 – 52
D-23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: +49 (0)451 148-200

Find Out More

Our publications

More about the Foundation

Here you can find our annual reports, Emil Possehl’s will, and the brand eins Wissen magazine to mark our 100th anniversary.

All PUBLICATIONS

Emil Possehl's bequest

Our articles of association

The Foundation only supports non-profit and charitable causes and “promotes all that is good and beautiful in Lübeck”.

FIND OUT MORE

Das schöne Bild der Stadt

1987 wurde Lübecks Altstadt von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt. Auf der Altstadtinsel gibt es über 1.400 eingetragene Denkmäler, die es zu erhalten und zu schützen gilt. Die Possehl-Stiftung unterstützt die denkmalgerechte Sanierung der historischen Bausubstanz. Der Erhalt von „Lübecks Sieben Türmen“, den fünf Lübecker Innenstadtkirchen, ist der Stiftung eine weitere Verpflichtung. Von 1950 bis heute hat die Possehl-Stiftung mit weit über 55 Millionen Euro dazu beitragen können, die Lübecker Altstadt in ihrer architektonischen Vielfalt zu erhalten und gestalten.


Sanierung der Lübecker Synagoge

1880 hatte die Jüdische Gemeinde in Lübeck eine große Synagoge eingeweiht: Ein beeindruckender Bau mit großer Kuppel und maurischen Stilelementen. 1939 drängte die Stadt Lübeck die Gemeinde in einen Zwangsverkauf und entfernte die Kuppel und alle verzierenden Elemente. Es blieb eine schlichte Backsteinfassade. Nach dem Krieg kehrte die jüdische Gemeinde hierhin zurück. Die Fassade wurde 1991 unter Denkmalschutz gestellt. Sie ist ein Zeugnis der Schändung jüdischer Religion und Kultur durch Lübecker Nationalsozialisten und vom Bund als Nationales Denkmal anerkannt.

Bund, Land, Hansestadt Lübeck und mehrere Stiftungen haben die Mittel für den Erhalt der Synagoge aufgebracht. Im August 2021 wurde sie nach sechsjähriger Sanierungszeit wiedereröffnet. Der Tag der Wiedereröffnung ist verbunden mit Dankbarkeit für den großen Einsatz so vieler Beteiligter. Für die Stiftung liegt die Schönheit dieses Ortes genau darin, dass seine historischen Brüche nicht überdeckt werden und sichtbar bleiben. Auf diesem Boden kann das jüdische Leben in Lübeck neue Freundschaften finden.


Sanierung eines Altstadthauses in Hartengrube

Das Haus Hartengrube 34 (gelb) galt als historisch unbedeutendes, profanes Wohnhaus. Erst bei der Einrichtung der Baustelle wurde klar, dass es sich um ein äußerst geschichtsträchtiges Haus handelt, dessen Ursprünge in das Jahr 1378 zurückreichen. Nach Schilderungen der Eigentümer wurde das Haus in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten „verbaut, verbastetet und verwohnt“.  Jetzt konnte es behutsam und in Abstimmung mit der Denkmalpflege saniert werden. Das Mauerwerk wurde mit geeignetem historischem Ziegelmaterial ergänzt und repariert werden. Mit ihrer Sanierung hat die Familie einen verborgenen Lübecker Schatz sichtbar gemacht.

Kontakt

Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck
Beckergrube 38 – 52
23552 Lübeck
E-Mail: possehl-stiftung(at)possehl.de
Tel.: 0451 / 148-200

Mehr erfahren

Unsere Publikationen

Mehr über die Stiftung
Hier finden Sie unsere Jahrbücher, Emils Testament und die brand eins Wissen-Publikation zum 100. Stiftungsjubiläum.

Alle Publikationen

Unsere Satzung

Das Vermächtnis Emil Possehls
Die Stiftung verfolgt ausschließlich gemeinnützige Zwecke und soll der „Förderung alles Guten und Schönen in Lübeck“ dienen.

Mehr erfahren